This year was a great year for music. So many incredible albums from so many different genres that all became the soundtrack to my life. I have a 6 cd  changer in my car and a lot of these albums are in there or have been rotated in and out of it. Its always fun to try to see if you can get through an entire album while you’re in traffic.

Without further adieu, here are my favorite albums, in no particular order, (with the exception of some that were probably forgotten) that I loved from 2016.

nf-therapy-session-cover

NF – THERAPY SESSION

Favorite Song: Oh Lord

Christian Rappers are always really exciting. They sound all hard but they’re singing about Jesus and I always get so dang excited about it.

the-word-alive-e1457985906337

THE WORD ALIVE – DARK MATTER

Favorite Song: Made This Way

Honestly this album is so good my favorite song changes all the time. Telle is one of the most talented vocalists in the scene right now and the proof is found on this album.

sia_this_is_acting__monkey_puzzle_2016

SIA – THIS IS ACTING

Favorite Song: Move Your Body

I seriously don’t think Sia has ever put out a bad song… ever. Girls got vocals for daaaaays.

maxresdefault

HANDS LIKE HOUSES – DISSONANTS

Favorite Song: I honestly could not tell you they’re all so good

The favorite song changes with my mood. Such a great album all around. Saw them live for the first time this year and wowza those boys know how to put on a good show.

60827-this-light-i-hold

MEMPHIS MAY FIRE – THIS LIGHT I HOLD

Favorite Song: Live It Well

This album has a lot of religious themes and a lot of things that I relate to and am experiencing.

tonight-alive-limitless

TONIGHT ALIVE – LIMITLESS

Favorite Song: How Does It Feel?

Jenna is a badass female powerhouse. This album is very positive and uplifting and that’s always refreshing.

untitled

FAULTLINES – ALL WE’VE EVER KNOWN

Favorite Song: Voices

I’ve been following Christina for a while now so when she announced her band I got very excited. Great vocals all around but the breakdown in Voices gets me real excited.

tooclosetotouch_haventbeenmyself

TOO CLOSE TO TOUCH – HAVEN’T BEEN MYSELF

Favorite Song: Sympathy

I relate to a lot of the themes from this album. Most of them are incredibly depressing and emotional and you can hear that in Keaton’s voice and that’s what really gets me.

the-weekend-starboy-thatgrapejuice

THE WEEKND – STARBOY

Favorite Song: Party Monster

Sometimes a girl needs an album to get lit to.

sylar_helpalbumartwork

SYLAR – HELP!

Favorite Song: Dark Daze

This album is just really great. Sylar makes metalcore music that isn’t necessarily recycled and it makes it fun to listen to.

light-up-the-sky-nightlife

LIGHT UP THE SKY – NIGHTLIFE

Favorite Song: Breather

Pretty much the definition of recycled metalcore but I’m not complaining! That’s a genre for ya! I swoon over fantastic vocals and Ray’s are no exception.

8d85d36ccdd2af51b011b19aae994b4e-1000x1000x1

ISSUES – HEADSPACE

Favorite Song: Flojo, Blue Wall, or Someone Who Does. Depends if I wanna be hype or sad

Issues combines pretty much every genre in this album and somehow it works. This was the sound track to my summer.

1472159392217

I SEE STARS – TREEHOUSE

Favorite Song: Two Hearted

This was the first album I See Stars released with out their screamer, and after New Demons it was interesting to see how it would compare. I think they killed it. Based on a lot of youtube comments though, a lot of male metal elitist would disagree with me. Just because a band got softer doesn’t mean their music isn’t good.

14463295_10154497048247208_200427367786099208_n

GLASS HOUSES – WELLSPRING

Favorite Song: Wellspring

Glass Houses is pretty local to me (I think they’re based out of Fargo), so their release show for this album was at the Garage in MN (I actually shot it) and these guys are INSANE! I have never been so into a show while shooting it in my life. The album is crazy too, I don’t think its left my car since I put it in there. Wellspring is my favorite song off of it because I feel as though that’s right about where I’m at in life. Some days are hard but I have a lot of people who back me and there’s finally hope and that light at the end of the tunnel.

12a87ef19f53c9166d3a24091c728021-600x600x1

ARCHITECTS – ALL OUR GODS HAVE ABANDONED US

Favorite Song: Nihlist

I genuinely don’t think Architects have ever put out a bad song. This album is emotional and heart wrenching, especially knowing that a lot are the songs are about Tom’s battle with cancer. Hearing Gone With The Wind for the first time after he passed sent shivers up and down my spine. Insane. 

a3672564711_10

BOYS OF FALL – THANK YOU & GOODBYE

Favorite Song: Thanks For the Burgers or It’s Always Sunny in Arkadelphia

Boys Of Fall actually broke up this year and this was all the music they were sitting on before unfortunately (but understandably) calling it quits. They make really cool music that you don’t hear much of anywhere else.


So that’s it! I also spent a lot of time listening to LIGHT’s  Midnight Machines (which I forgot about until after I put together the collage), Erra’s Drift, Bilmuri’s three albums that came out this year, and Carrie Underwood’s Storyteller (which came out in 2015 and that’s why I didn’t include it). I know a lot of smaller bands are gonna be releasing music next year and I’m wicked excited for it. 2017 is gonna be the year of the newcomers and it’s gonna be great.

